Feedback | Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Lok Sabha Elections: 52.60 percent voter turnout recorded till 3 PM in fourth phase

A voter turnout of 52.60% was recorded till 3 pm on Monday in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, being conducted across 96 constituencies in nine states and one Union territory.

Voting is also underway for all 175 seats of the state legislative assembly of Andhra Pradesh and 28 seats of the state legislative assembly of Odisha.

A total of 1,717 candidates are contesting elections in the fourth phase, Election Commission of India said. According to the poll body, a total of 4,264 nominations were filed for 96 parliamentary constituencies.

Polling time in certain assembly segments of 17 Parliamentary Constituencies of Telangana was increased by the Commission (from 7 am till 6 pm) to increase voters’ participation.

Of the 96 Lok Sabha seats, 25 are from Andhra Pradesh, 17 from Telangana, 13 from Uttar Pradesh, 11 from Maharashtra, eight each from Madhya Pradesh and West Bengal, five from Bihar, four each from Jharkhand and Odisha and one from Jammu and Kashmir.

The fourth phase will witness key contests on various constituencies. Leaders such as AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, West Bengal Congress chief Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, TMC leader Mahua Moitra, BJP leader Giriraj Singh, JDU’s Rajiv Ranjan Singh (Lalan Singh), TMC leaders Shatrughan Sinha and Yusuf Pathan, BJP leaders Arjun Munda and Madhavi Latha, Andhra Pradesh Congress Chief YS Sharmila will be looking for the electoral success.


Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 1874847
Last Updated: 22nd May 2024