Feedback | Friday, July 19, 2024

13/06/24 | 9:44 pm

Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu assumes office at secretariat

A day after taking oath as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Nara Chandrababu Naidu on Thursday assumed the charge in the State Secretariat in Amaravati.

Chandrababu Naidu took oath as Andhra chief minister for the fourth time on Wednesday. Several leaders of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) were present when Naidu took charge.

Naidu also offered prayers to the God at the secretariat office before assuming charge as the Chief Minister.

Earlier today, CM Naidu along with his family offered prayers at Tirupati Balaji temple in Tirumala.

He reached Tirumala on Wednesday evening, where he received a warm welcome from the temple authorities. During the visit, the Chief Minister was accompanied by his wife Nara Bhuvaneshwari, son and state minister Nara Lokesh, Lokesh’s wife Nara Brahmani, and their son Devansh.

Naidu sworn in as the 18th CM of Andhra Pradesh in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and other leaders of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) at an event in Vijayawada on Wednesday.

The 24-member cabinet also took the oath of office on Wednesday along with the Chief Minister. This includes MLAs of the Telugu Desam Party, Janasena Party and BJP. Andhra Governor S Abdul Nazeer administered the oath of office to ministers.

This is the fourth time that Naidu is assuming charge as Andhra Chief Minister and the second time after the bi-furcation in 2014.
Naidu became chief minister first in 1995, before the Andhra bifurcation and he led the state until 2004 for nine consecutive years. The TDP supremo returned as the chief minister of the bifurcated Andhra in 2014 and served until 2019.

Naidu had led the TDP- BJP-Janasena National Democratic Alliance to a landslide victory in the Assembly as well as parliamentary elections.

The TDP holds the majority in Andhra Pradesh’s 175-member assembly with 135 MLAs, while its allies, the Janasena Party, has 21 and BJP has eight. The opposition YSR Congress Party was confined to a meagre 11.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 5095647
Last Updated: 19th Jul 2024