Feedback | Sunday, June 16, 2024

Campaigning for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections ends Today; Voting on Saturday

Campaigning for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections ends today. Voting will take place on Saturday, May 25, across 58 constituencies in eight states and union territories. These areas include 8 seats in Bihar, all 10 seats in Haryana, 1 seat in Jammu and Kashmir, 4 in Jharkhand, all 7 seats in Delhi, 6 in Odisha, 14 in Uttar Pradesh, and 8 in West Bengal. A total of 889 candidates are competing in this phase. Voting will run from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.

In Bihar, leaders from the NDA, Grand Alliance, and other parties are making final efforts to attract voters in the constituencies going to polls.

Key campaigners are also gearing up for the seventh phase of elections. BJP leader and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will hold public meetings in Areraj and Sugauli in the Purvi and Paschimi Champaran constituencies. BSP president Mayawati will address a public meeting in Buxar. RJD leader Tejashwi Prasad Yadav will hold rallies in Vaishali, Purvi Champaran, Gopalganj, and Paschimi Champaran.

In Odisha, high-energy campaigning for the six Lok Sabha and 42 Assembly constituencies ends today. Polling will be held in Sambalpur, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal, Puri, Bhubaneswar, and Cuttack. Significant contests include Sambalpur, where BJP’s Dharmendra Pradhan faces BJD’s Pranab Prakash Dash and Congress’s Nagendra Pradhan. Puri sees a contest between BJP’s Sambit Patra and BJD’s Arup Patnaik, while Bhubaneswar features Congress’s Yasir Nawaz against BJP’s Aprajita Sarangi and BJD’s Manmath Routray.

Top BJP leaders, including party president JP Nadda and Yogi Adityanath and Himanta Biswa Sarma, will campaign in Odisha. They will visit various constituencies to support BJP candidates. Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is also campaigning with BJD candidates, while Congress leaders are working to win voter support.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will address a rally in Patiala, Punjab, today. He is expected to arrive at 4 p.m., and the rally aims to boost BJP’s campaign in the state. PM Modi will also hold rallies in Gurdaspur and Jalandhar tomorrow. Meanwhile, Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Singh Mann and other local leaders are campaigning through roadshows and rallies.

Campaigning in Delhi, where all seven Lok Sabha seats are up for grabs, also ends today. Political parties are making last-minute efforts with roadshows, public meetings, and door-to-door campaigns. BJP leaders Rajnath Singh, Piyush Goyal, Smriti Irani, and others will hold events, while Congress’s Rahul Gandhi will address meetings in Mangolpuri and Seemapuri. AAP leaders will also hold roadshows.

In Delhi, the contest is mainly between the BJP and the AAP-Congress alliance. BJP is contesting all seven seats, while AAP is contesting four, and Congress three. BJP won all seven seats in the last two elections and is striving to repeat this success. Congress and AAP are working hard to challenge BJP’s dominance in the capital.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3648001
Last Updated: 16th Jun 2024