Feedback | Monday, May 27, 2024

Election Commission issues notification for fourth phase of Lok Sabha polls

The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Thursday issued a notification for the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections, which will take place on May 13.

Elections for the fourth phase in 96 Lok Sabha seats will be held across Andhra Pradesh (25 constituencies), Bihar (5), Jharkhand (4), Madhya Pradesh (8), Maharashtra (11), Odisha (4), Telangana (17), Uttar Pradesh (13), West Bengal (8), J&K (1).

According to the ECI’s notification, the last date for filing nominations is April 25, with the scrutiny of nominations scheduled for April 26. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 29.

Meanwhile, campaigning for 102 parliamentary constituencies distributed across 21 states and Union territories, where voting will be held in the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 19, concluded on Wednesday.

In the first phase, polling will be held in Arunachal Pradesh (2 seats), Assam (5), Bihar (4), Chhattisgarh (1), Madhya Pradesh (6), Maharashtra (5), Manipur (2), Meghalaya (2), Mizoram (1), Nagaland (1), Rajasthan (12), Sikkim (1), Tamil Nadu (39), Tripura (1), Uttar Pradesh (8), Uttarakhand (5), West Bengal (3), Andaman and Nicobar (1), Jammu and Kashmir (1), Lakshadweep (1) and Puducherry (1).

The 2024 general elections in India will be held in seven phases from April 19 to June 1, with the results scheduled to be announced on June 4.

(Inputs from ANI)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 2087715
Last Updated: 27th May 2024