Feedback | Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Fifth Phase records 56.68% voting by 5pm, West Bengal leads with 73%

The fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections continued on Monday, covering 49 seats across six states and two Union Territories. By 5 PM, a total voter turnout of 56.68% was recorded, with West Bengal witnessing the highest participation at 73% and Maharashtra the lowest at 48.66%.

According to the Election Commission, the state-wise voter turnout was as follows: Bihar recorded 52.35%, Jammu and Kashmir 54.21%, Jharkhand 61.90%, Ladakh 67.15%, Maharashtra 48.66%, Odisha 60.55%, Uttar Pradesh 55.80%, and West Bengal 73%.

In this phase, the election was held for 14 seats in Uttar Pradesh, 13 in Maharashtra, 7 in West Bengal, 5 in Odisha, 5 in Bihar, 3 in Jharkhand, 1 in Jammu and Kashmir, and 1 in Ladakh.

Additionally, the Election Commission reported that polling was also being conducted for 35 Assembly seats in Odisha simultaneously. By 5 PM, Odisha recorded a 60.54% voter turnout for the Assembly elections.

In Mumbai, notable figures including Union Minister Piyush Goyal, Gulzar, Subhash Ghai, Akshay Kumar, Nana Patekar, Anil Kapoor, Manoj Bajpayee, RBI Governor Shaktikanta Das, and Anil Ambani cast their votes.

Elsewhere, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, BSP supremo Mayawati, and Satish Chandra Mishra voted in Lucknow, while Dinesh Pratap Singh, who is contesting against Rahul Gandhi, cast his vote in Raebareli.

With this phase, voting has now been completed for 380 of the 543 Lok Sabha seats across the first four phases. Including today’s polling, the total now stands at 429 seats. The remaining 114 seats will be contested in the upcoming two phases.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3696440
Last Updated: 18th Jun 2024