Feedback | Thursday, May 23, 2024

06/05/24 | 9:06 am | Bangladesh | Dhaka

Fixture schedule announced for ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 to be held in Bangladesh

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Sunday announced the fixtures for the ninth ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2024 taking place from 3 to 20 October in Bangladesh.

Ten teams will play 23 matches, over 18 action-packed days, at two venues in Bangladesh, the Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka and the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium in Sylhet, said ICC press release.

The schedule was unveiled at an event in Dhaka, attended by Nazmul Hassan, President of the Bangladesh Cricket Board alongside Geoff Allardice, CEO of the ICC and the Captains of India and Bangladesh women’s team- Harmanpreet Kaur and Nigar Sultana respectively.

Before the official fixture launch, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina met the two captains at her residence, offering her best wishes for a successful World Cup.

On the World Cup’s opening day, Bangladesh will face Qualifier 2 in the evening match in Dhaka on 3 October.  Prior to that 2023 runners up South Africa will play England in the opening match of the T20 World Cup which will set the tone for a competitive and exciting 18 days. On 4th October India will face New Zealand at Sylhet in the first stand off.

Speaking at the event, India Captain Harmanpreet Kaur said: “I’m thrilled at the prospect of competing in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in Bangladesh later this year. The growth of women’s cricket over the past few years and especially Women’s World Cups have been incredible. I am sure this event will be no different with competitive and high energy cricket to entertain the world.”

By Navalsang Parmar, Dhaka

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 1901914
Last Updated: 23rd May 2024