Feedback | Monday, June 24, 2024

Indian filmmaker Payal Kapadia wins Grand Prix at Cannes, PM Modi lauds achievement

Indian filmmaker Payal Kapadia etched her name in the annals of cinematic history at the 2024 Cannes Film Festival as her directorial debut drama, “All We Imagine as Light,” clinched the prestigious Grand Prix award.

Kapadia’s film became the first Indian entry in three decades and the first ever by an Indian woman director to secure a spot in the festival’s main competition, let alone win the Grand Prix.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi extended his congratulations to her through a post on the social media platform X, where he said: “India is proud of Payal Kapadia for her historic feat of winning the Grand Prix at the 77th Cannes Film Festival for her work ‘All We Imagine as Light’. An alumnus of FTII, her remarkable talent continues to shine on the global stage, giving a glimpse of the rich creativity in India. This prestigious accolade not only honours her exceptional skills but also inspires a new generation of Indian filmmakers.”

The official Instagram account of the Festival de Cannes announced, “Le Grand Prix est attribue a ALL WE IMAGINE AS LIGHT de PAYAL KAPADIA. The Grand Prix goes to ALL WE IMAGINE AS LIGHT by PAYAL KAPADIA. #Cannes2024 #Palmares #Awards #GrandPrix”

The screening of ‘All We Imagine as Light’ was met with a thunderous eight-minute standing ovation from the audience.

Set in a bustling city, the film tells the story of Prabha, a nurse whose life takes an unexpected turn when she receives a mysterious gift from her estranged husband. Accompanied by her roommate Anu, the duo embarks on a journey to a coastal town, where a mystical forest serves as a sanctuary for their dreams.

‘All We Imagine as Light’ is an Indo-French co-production, with Petit Chaos from France and Chalk and Cheese Films from India serving as co-producers.

The Grand Prix win marks a remarkable feature film debut for Payal Kapadia, who had previously won the Golden Eye award at Cannes for her documentary ‘A Night of Knowing Nothing.’

The Cannes Film Festival commenced on May 14, with Greta Gerwig serving as the jury president. Other jury members included Lily Gladstone, Kore-eda Hirokazu, Eva Green, Ebru Ceylan, Juan Antonio Bayona, Nadine Labaki, and Omar Sy.

(Inputs from ANI)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3972322
Last Updated: 24th Jun 2024