Feedback | Tuesday, June 18, 2024

21/05/24 | 10:50 am

Indian Open Surfing’s 5th edition to start from May 31

The Surfing Federation of India (SFI), the governing body for the sports of surfing and stand-up paddling in India, announced the fifth edition of the Indian Open Surfing (IOS). Recognized by the International Surfing Association, the premier surfing competition will be hosted by the Mantra Surf Club at the tranquil Sasihithlu Beach in Mangaluru, Karnataka, from May 31 to June 2.

The three-day surfing competition will feature participation from all the top-ranked surfers in India. The Karnataka government has extended its support to the event for the fifth time in a row. The competition will include four categories: Men’s Open, Women’s Open, Groms (U-16) Boys and Groms (U-16) Girls.

Indian Open Surfing will be the 2nd stop of the National Championship series of the 2024 calendar year, following the International Surfing Festival Kerala 2024, held in March at the beautiful cliff beach of Varkala. The IOS will feature intense rivalry between surfers from the east and west coasts, as these championships carry important ranking points that will determine the surfers’ standings at the end of the season.

Arun Vasu, President, Surfing Federation of India, on the announcement said, “Our goal is simple, we want to elevate India to the top in surfing. After a successful start to the National Series in Kerala, we are glad to continue the championships in Mangaluru before the championship tour moves to the East Coast”.

Ramesh Budihal, Harish M, Srikanth D and Manikandan M will be the surfers to watch in the men’s category, having performed exceptionally well in the last national championship recently held in Kerala. In the women’s category, Kamali Moorthy, Srishthi Selvam, and Sandhya Arun are among the participants competing for the top honours. Teenage sensation Kishore Kumar will have all eyes on him, having stunned everyone with his recent performances.

In the first championship of the calendar year (International Surfing Festival, Kerala), Ramesh Budihal and Kamali P emerged victorious in the Men’s and Women’s Open category respectively while Kishore Kumar won the Groms 16 and Under Boys with a high score of 14.73.


Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3689892
Last Updated: 18th Jun 2024