Feedback | Thursday, May 23, 2024

25/04/24 | 5:32 pm

Lok Sabha Election: Voting to be held for the second phase on Friday

The second phase of Lok Sabha Elections 2024 is set to be held on Friday, covering 88 parliamentary constituencies across 12 states and one Union territory.

These include 20 constituencies in Kerala, 14 in Karnataka, 13 in Rajasthan, 8 each in Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra, 6 in Madhya Pradesh, 5 each in Assam and Bihar, 3 seats each in West Bengal and Chhattisgarh and 1 seat each in Manipur, Tripura and Jammu and Kashmir.

Polling for the Betul (ST) parliamentary constituency in Madhya Pradesh, which was scheduled in the second phase, will now be held in the third phase due to the death of the Bahujan Samaj Party candidate.

For phase 2, Kerala recorded the highest number of nominations, with 500 filed across 20 parliamentary constituencies, followed by Karnataka with 491 nominations across 14 constituencies.

However, at the constituency level, the least number of nominations (14) were filed from a Tripura parliamentary constituency, while the Nanded parliamentary constituency in Maharashtra received the maximum number of nominations (92).

Following incidents of violence during polling in the first phase of the Lok Sabha elections on April 19, security has been tightened in outer Manipur, with 857 polling stations, 87 companies of paramilitary forces, and over 4,000 state police personnel deployed to ensure free and fair elections on Friday.

(With ANI input)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 1923860
Last Updated: 23rd May 2024