Feedback | Saturday, April 13, 2024

04/04/24 | 11:44 am

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Filing of nominations for second phase ends today

Filing of nominations for the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2024 will end on Thursday. In this phase, voting will be held for 88 parliamentary seats across 12 states and the Union territory of Jammu and Kashmir on April 26.

The process of filing nominations for the constituencies going the polls in the second phase began on March 28. Voting will be conducted for Lok Sabha seats in Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, in addition to one seat from outer Manipur.

Meanwhile, in the first phase, elections are scheduled to take place for 102 Lok Sabha seats on April 19. Voting will be held in 39 parliamentary constituencies in Tamil Nadu, 12 in Rajasthan, eight in Uttar Pradesh, six in Madhya Pradesh, five each in Uttarakhand, Assam and Maharashtra, four in Bihar, three in West Bengal, two each in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Meghalaya, and one each in Chhattisgarh, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep and Puducherry.

The Lok Sabha elections will be held in 28 states and 8 Union territories in seven phases till June 1. The counting of votes will take place on June 4.

The Election Commission has directed chief secretaries, DGPs, and heads of central agencies to maintain a strict vigil on the borders to ensure peaceful, free and fair elections.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 635245
Last Updated: 13th Apr 2024