Feedback | Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Lok Sabha elections conclude with final phase of voting tomorrow

The Lok Sabha elections will come to a close tomorrow as the final phase of voting takes place in 57 constituencies across eight states and Union territories.

This marks the end of the seven-phase elections that began on April 19. Voting will take place in 13 seats each in Uttar Pradesh and Punjab, nine seats in West Bengal, eight seats in Bihar, six seats in Odisha, four seats in Himachal Pradesh, three seats in Jharkhand, and one seat in Chandigarh.

A total of 904 candidates are contesting in this final phase. Key contenders include Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Minister Anurag Thakur, Congress leader Vikramaditya Singh, and TMC leader Abhishek Banerjee.

Polling will also be held in 42 assembly seats in Odisha and six assembly seats in Himachal Pradesh where by-elections are taking place.

The Election Commission has made extensive arrangements to ensure free and fair voting. Facilities such as drinking water, shade, ramps, toilets, and wheelchairs will be provided at polling stations to accommodate all voters, including the elderly and persons with disabilities. The ECI has also instructed polling officials to make all necessary arrangements in view of the severe heatwave conditions in several constituencies going to polls tomorrow.

Political leaders made their final appeal to voters on the last day of campaigning for the final phase on Thursday. In Himachal Pradesh, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari held a rally in the Karsog region, while Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath addressed a public meeting in Kullu and campaigned in Hamirpur with Union Minister Anurag Thakur. Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra held a roadshow in Solan.

The ECI will declare the final results on June 4.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3738916
Last Updated: 19th Jun 2024