Feedback | Thursday, May 23, 2024

LS polls 2024: BJP releases election manifesto ‘Sankalp Patra’

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday announced its election manifesto named ‘Sankalp Patra,’ for the Lok Sabha elections 2024, on the birth anniversary of Dr BR Ambedkar, honouring one of the main framers of the Constitution with this move.

Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, who chaired BJP’s 27-member manifesto committee, while addressing the pary’s Sankalp Patra release programme at its headquarters ,said, “I am happy and satisfied that, under Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s leadership, we have fulfilled all the promises that we made to the people of the country.”

“Through its ‘Sankalp Patra’, BJP presents the roadmap to a self-respecting and capable India as well as presents its commitment to welfare and development of every section of society in the country”, he added.

The event was attended by Senior BJP leader and Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party President JP Nadda and Home Minister Amit Shah, among others.

The BJP had appointed a manifesto committee headed by Defence Minister Rajnath Singh that met twice to deliberate on its contents after the party had launched multiple exercises, including massive campaigns across the country to seek people’s suggestions before the release of the ‘Sankalp Patra’.

The BJP received over 1.5 million suggestions for its manifesto, including more than 400,000 through the NaMo app and over 1.1 million through videos.

The Lok Sabha polls in India are scheduled to take place from April 19 to June 1, to choose the 543 representatives for the 18th Lok Sabha. These elections will be conducted over seven phases, with the outcome being declared on June 4.

Around 970 million individuals, out of a total population of 1.44 billion, are eligible to take part in the elections. The legislative assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, and Sikkim will coincide with the general election. Additionally, there will be by-elections for 35 seats across 16 states.


Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 1896445
Last Updated: 22nd May 2024