Feedback | Friday, June 14, 2024

10/06/24 | 11:59 pm

Modi 3.0 Cabinet: No Change In Big 4; Shivraj Singh Chouhan To Be Agriculture Minister

A day after being sworn in for a historic third consecutive term, Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday assigned portfolios to his 71-member council of ministers. The new Union Cabinet held its first meeting at the Prime Minister’s residence in the evening.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah, External Affairs Minister S. Jaishankar, Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh will retain their respective portfolios in the Modi 3.0 government, with the BJP keeping all four major cabinet positions.

Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who led the BJP to a significant victory in last year’s Assembly election but was not reinstated in that role, is now the Union Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Minister, replacing senior BJP tribal leader Arjun Munda. Chouhan will also oversee the Ministry of Rural Development.

Additionally, allies such as the TDP, JD(U), LJP (RV), and JD(S) have been allocated important portfolios in the new Cabinet. Ram Mohan Naidu of the TDP will be the new Civil Aviation Minister, Lalan Singh of JD(U) will head the Panchayati Raj Ministry, and Chirag Paswan will take charge of the Ministry of Food Processing Industries. H.D. Kumaraswamy of JD(S) will serve as the Minister of Heavy Industries as well as the Minister of Steel.

Here is the complete list of cabinet ministers and their assignments:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi

– In-charge of Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions; Department of Atomic Energy; Department of Space; All important policy issues; and all other portfolios not allocated to any Minister.

Key Ministers

– Rajnath Singh: Minister of Defence
– Amit Shah: Minister of Home Affairs; Minister of Cooperation
– Nitin Gadkari: Minister of Road Transport and Highways
– Jagat Prakash Nadda: Minister of Health and Family Welfare; Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers
– Shivraj Singh Chouhan: Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare; Minister of Rural Development
– Nirmala Sitharaman: Minister of Finance; Minister of Corporate Affairs
– Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar: Minister of External Affairs
– Manohar Lal Khattar: Minister of Housing and Urban Affairs; Minister of Power
– HD Kumaraswamy: Minister of Heavy Industries; Minister of Steel
– Piyush Goyal: Minister of Commerce and Industry
– Dharmendra Pradhan: Minister of Education
– Jitan Ram Manjhi: Minister of Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises
– Rajiv Ranjan Singh alias Lalan Singh: Minister of Panchayati Raj; Minister of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying
– Sarbananda Sonowal: Minister of Ports, Shipping and Waterways
– Dr. Virendra Kumar: Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment
– Kinjarapu Rammohan Naidu: Minister of Civil Aviation
– Pralhad Joshi: Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution; Minister of New and Renewable Energy
– Jual Oram: Minister of Tribal Affairs
– Giriraj Singh: Minister of Textiles
– Ashwini Vaishnaw: Minister of Railways; Minister of Information and Broadcasting; Minister of Electronics and Information Technology
– Jyotiraditya M. Scindia: Minister of Communications; Minister of Development of North Eastern Region
– Bhupender Yadav: Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
– Gajendra Singh Shekhawat: Minister of Culture; Minister of Tourism
– Annpurna Devi: Minister of Women and Child Development
– Kiren Rijiju: Minister of Parliamentary Affairs; Minister of Minority Affairs
– Hardeep Singh Puri: Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gas
– Dr. Mansukh Mandaviya: Minister of Labour and Employment; Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports
– G. Kishan Reddy: Minister of Coal; Minister of Mines
– Chirag Paswan: Minister of Food Processing Industries
– C. R. Patil: Minister of Jal Shakti

Ministers of State

– Patel: Health and Family Welfare; Chemicals and Fertilizers
– V. Somanna: Jal Shakti; Railways
– Dr. Chandra Sekhar Pemmasani: Rural Development; Communications
– Prof. S. P. Singh Baghel: Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying; Panchayati Raj
– Sobha Karandlaje: Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises; Labour and Employment
– Kirtivardhan Singh: Environment, Forest and Climate Change; External Affairs
– B. L. Verma: Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution; Social Justice and Empowerment
– Shantanu Thakur: Ports, Shipping and Waterways
– Suresh Gopi: Petroleum and Natural Gas; Tourism
– Dr. L. Murugan: Information and Broadcasting; Parliamentary Affairs
– Ajay Tamta: Road Transport and Highways
– Bandi Sanjay Kumar: Home Affairs
– Kamlesh Paswan: Rural Development
– Bhagirath Choudhary: Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
– Satish Chandra Dubey: Coal; Mines
– Sanjay Seth: Defence
– Ravneet Singh: Food Processing Industries; Railways
– Durgadas Uikey: Tribal Affairs
– Raksha Nikhil Khadse: Youth Affairs and Sports
– Sukanta Majumdar: Education; Development of North Eastern Region
– Savitri Thakur: Women and Child Development
– Tokhan Sahu: Housing and Urban Affairs
– Raj Bhushan Choudhary: Jal Shakti
– Bhupathi Raju Srinivasa Varma: Heavy Industries; Steel
– Harsh Malhotra: Corporate Affairs; Road Transport and Highways
– Nimuben Jayantibhai Bambhaniya: Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
– Murlidhar Mohol: Cooperation; Civil Aviation
– George Kurian: Minority Affairs; Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying
– Pabitra Margherita: External Affairs; Textiles

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3556185
Last Updated: 14th Jun 2024