Feedback | Saturday, June 15, 2024

June 14, 2024 2:47 PM

Heavy rain, landslides kill 6 in Sikkim, 2,000 tourists stranded

At least six people have been killed this week and around 2,000 tourists stranded in the Himalayan state of Sikkim in landslides and floods after incessant rainfall, officials said on Friday. Another four people have been killed in Nepal's Taplejung district, which borders Sikkim, after a landslide following rains swept away the house in which they were sleeping, officials there said. Heavy rains triggered landslides at several locations in Mangan district, which covers north Sikkim and lies a...

June 13, 2024 3:57 PM

Heavy rainfall continues in Northeast India, heat wave grips Northern plains

The India Meteorological Department (IMD) has issued alerts for heavy to very heavy rainfall with isolated extremely heavy falls over Sub-Himalayan West Bengal, Sikkim, and Northeast India during the next 4-5 days. Meanwhile, heat wave to severe heat wave conditions are expected to persist over northern parts of the country during the same period. Over the past 24 hours, several regions experienced intense weather conditions. Heat wave to severe heat wave conditions prevailed in most parts of W...

June 4, 2024 9:49 AM

Sikkim: Prem Singh Tamang meets Governor, stakes claim to form new govt

Following the inaugural meeting of the newly elected legislators at Gangtok's Mintokgang, Sikkim Chief Minister Prem Singh Tamang called on Governor Lakshman Prasad Acharya and formally submitted a resolution declaring him to be the Chief Minister from his party. The resolution, signed by all 30 newly elected legislators designated Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) president Prem Singh Tamang as the leader of the Legislature Party and the Chief Ministerial candidate for the 11th Sikkim Legislative...

June 4, 2024 8:06 AM

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Security tightened at counting centres & strong room ahead of counting of votes

In view of the counting of votes for the Lok Sabha elections in the world's largest democracy, security has been heightened across the country with police and paramilitary forces conducting intensive patrolling. Visuals from the national capital showed that the North-East Delhi District Police along with paramilitary forces were patrolling and checking vehicles in Nand Nagri, Seelampur, Dayalpur, Sonia Vihar and Bhajanpura areas of Delhi. Patrolling is also at the Connaught Place and Barakhamba...

June 4, 2024 7:44 AM

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 Results: All set for counting of votes amid high security arrangements

The mammoth exercise to count votes polled for the Lok Sabha seats in the 2024 elections begins at 8 am today (Tuesday). Trends and results will also begin from 8 am itself. Results of the Assembly elections in Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Andhra Pradesh were also held simultaneously with voting for the 543-member Lok Sabha. Results of 175 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh and 147 Assembly constituencies in Odisha and results of bypolls in 25 Assembly constituencies will also b...

June 2, 2024 3:14 PM

BJP wins 23 seats in Arunachal, leads on 23; SKM wins 11 in Sikkim

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu on Sunday extended wishes to BJP leaders as the party registered its victory in 23 seats in the state and is leading in 23 seats taking the tally to 46, per the report by Election Commission. The BJP has already won 10 seats unopposed in Arunachal. Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein have already won their respective seats. The majority mark in the Arunachal Assembly is 31. National People's Party (NPEP) has won one sea...

June 2, 2024 10:41 AM

Assembly election results: BJP to retain power in Arunachal; ruling SKM in Sikkim crosses majority mark

Chief Minister Pema Khandu-led BJP government in Arunachal Pradesh is set to retain power as the party has crossed the majority mark, leading in 30 seats in the early trends. The BJP has already won 10 seats unopposed in Arunachal. Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein have already won their respective seats. As per the Election Commission data, the Bharatiya Janata Party is leading on 30 seats in Arunachal Pradesh including--Lumla, Kalaktang, Koloriang, Nacho, Likab...

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3605785
Last Updated: 15th Jun 2024