Feedback | Saturday, June 22, 2024

11/06/24 | 7:33 pm

Indian rifle, pistol team for Paris Olympics announced

The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) announced a 15-member Indian Rifle and Pistol team for the Paris 2024 Olympics after a virtual meeting of the senior selection committee. Women’s pistol ace Manu Bhaker, a two-time Olympian, will compete in both the women’s 10m air pistol and the women’s 25m pistol events.

The team comprises eight rifle shooters and seven pistol shooters. Currently, the team, along with coaches and support staff, is in a training camp in Volmerange-Les-Mines, France, focusing on acclimatization and hard training before taking a two-week break.

Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo, Senior Vice President of NRAI, said, “After extensive deliberations, we have selected the best team based on current form and merit. We are confident that everything is in place for the team to succeed. Despite our depth, some excellent shooters are not in the squad but will have opportunities to make a comeback. We wish the squad all the best.”

K Sultan Singh, Secretary General of NRAI, added, “The team is in good form, comprising four Olympians and promising young talent. They have been training systematically under the guidance of foreign and national coaches and the sports science team. We are confident they will make the nation proud in Paris.”

India has earned a record 21 quotas in shooting for the Paris Olympics. Besides 16 medal shots in eight individual rifle and pistol events, India will compete in five mixed team events and four individual shotgun events. The Shotgun team announcement will follow the ongoing ISSF World Cup in Lonato.

Indian Rifle and Pistol Team for Paris 2024:

– Sandeep Singh, Arjun Babuta (10m Air Rifle M)
– Elavenil Valarivan, Ramita (10m Air Rifle W)
– Sift Kaur Samra, Anjum Moudgil (50m Rifle 3 Positions W)
– Aishwary Tomar, Swapnil Kusale (50m Rifle 3 Positions M)

– Sarabjot Singh, Arjun Cheema (10m Air Pistol M)
– Manu Bhaker, Rhythm Sangwan (10m Air Pistol W)
– Anish Bhanwal, Vijayveer Sidhu (25m RFP M)
– Manu Bhaker, Esha Singh (25m Pistol W)

The NRAI plans to exchange the spare quota place freed up by Manu Bhaker’s participation in two events, as per ISSF rules.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3877535
Last Updated: 22nd Jun 2024