Feedback | Wednesday, May 29, 2024

UNESCO adds three Indian literary masterpieces to Memory of the World Register

Three Indian literary masterpieces have been added to UNESCO’s Memory of the World Asia-Pacific Regional Register. The inclusion of the ‘Ramcharitmanas’, ‘Panchatantra’, and ‘Sahṛdayāloka-Locana’ in the register highlights the significance of preserving and celebrating diverse narratives and artistic expressions that shape our shared humanity, the Ministry of Culture said in a statement.

‘Sahṛdayaloka-Locana’, ‘Panchatantra’, and ‘Ramcharitmanas’ were authored by renowned figures such as Acharya Anandvardhan, Pt. Vishnu Sharma, and Goswami Tulsidas, respectively.

“These literary works have transcended time and place, leaving an indelible mark on readers and artists both within and outside India,” the ministry said, acknowledging the instrumental role played by the Indira Gandhi National Centre for the Arts (IGNCA) in ensuring the addition of these literary works to the register.

The inclusion of these texts took place during the 10th meeting of the Memory of the World Committee for Asia and the Pacific (MOWCAP), held in Ulaanbaatar.

By Manish Poswal 

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 2151338
Last Updated: 28th May 2024