Feedback | Monday, April 22, 2024

06/11/23 | 3:05 pm

Voting to be held in Chhattisgarh and Mizoram on Tuesday, international borders sealed

The election campaigning for the first phase of voting to be held in Chhattisgarh on November 7, stopped on Sunday evening. Voting for Mizoram Assembly elections is also going to be held for all 40 assembly seats on Tuesday. Polling teams have been sent to remote polling stations for the first phase of voting in Chhattisgarh. Many of these polling parties have been sent by helicopter. A total of 223 candidates are trying their luck in the 20 assembly constituencies of the first phase, of which 198 are men and 25 are women.

According to the information received from the Chhattisgarh Election Commission, 40 lakh, 78 thousand, and 681 voters of the state will exercise their franchise during the first phase of voting. These include 19 lakh 93 thousand 937 male voters, 20 lakh 84 thousand 675 female voters, and 69 third gender voters.

A total of 5304 polling stations have been set up in the state to ensure smooth voting. Of these, 200 are Sangwari polling stations, where only women polling personnel will be posted. Out of the 20 assembly constituencies in the first phase, voting will be held in ten assembly constituencies from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m. and in ten assembly constituencies from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Among these, voting will be held from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. in Pandaria, Kawardha, Khairagarh, Dongargarh, Rajnandgaon, Dongargaon, Khujji, Bastar, Jagdalpur, and Chitrakote assembly constituencies. Whereas in Mohla-Manpur, Antagarh, Bhanupratappur, Kanker, Keshkal, Kondagaon, Narayanpur, Dantewada, Bijapur, and Konta assembly constituencies, voting will be held from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

In the first phase of voting in the state, 13 were in the Antagarh assembly constituency, 14 in Bhanupratappur, 9 in Kanker, 10 in Keshkal, 8 in Kondagaon, 9 in Narayanpur, 8 in Bastar, 11 in Jagdalpur, 7 in Chitrakote, 7 in Dantewada, and 7 in Bijapur. 8 candidates in Konta, 11 in Khairagarh, 10 in Dongargarh, 29 in Rajnandgaon, 12 in Dongargaon, 10 in Khujji, 9 in Mohla-Manpur, 16 in Kawardha, and 14 in Pandariya are contesting the election.

Voting for Mizoram Assembly elections will be held for 40 seats in the state on Tuesday. For this, all preparations have been completed in the state. The Election Commission has declared about 30 polling stations along the border area as sensitive. The Myanmar and Bangladesh international border with Mizoram has been sealed.

The Chief Electoral Officer of the state said that 1,276 polling stations have been set up across the state for the 40-member assembly, out of which 149 are remote polling stations. About 30 polling stations along the border area have been declared sensitive. Along with this, security arrangements have been tightened on the border.

Voting will be held on Tuesday for 40 seats in Mizoram State. 8 lakh, 57 thousand voters in the state will decide the fate of 174 candidates in the elections. All preparations for voting have been completed. There is a possibility of a triangular contest between the MNF, ZPM, and Congress in Mizoram. However, this time, the BJP has also entered the election field with full strength. At the same time, for the first time, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has fielded its candidates for four seats.

For security and peace, 5 thousand polling personnel have been deployed at 1,274 polling stations. Polling personnel had left for 86 polling stations on Sunday. Even today, polling personnel will leave for the polling stations. The Mizoram-Myanmar and Bangladesh international borders have been sealed for the elections.

It is noteworthy that, due to the large population of voters in the inaccessible mountains in Mizoram, home voting has been arranged for more than 7,000 people in the state. For this, arrangements have been made to send ballot papers by post.

Apart from this, arrangements for home voting have also been made in many other remote areas. Additional security forces have been deployed at all sensitive and highly sensitive polling stations in the state so that voting can be conducted in a clean and peaceful manner. Polling officers and presiding officers have already reached the polling centres in remote areas. Elaborate preparations have been made to conduct the elections. The counting of votes will take place on December 3. (Inputs from HS)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 869915
Last Updated: 22nd Apr 2024