Feedback | Saturday, May 18, 2024

Williamson to lead, Boult included as New Zealand announce T20 World Cup 2024 squad

By: Aditya Ahuja

New Zealand announced their 15-player squad for the ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 on Monday, with the Black Caps opting for an experienced lineup that includes Kane Williamson as captain, along with fast bowling duo Tim Southee and Trent Boult.

This will mark Williamson’s sixth appearance at a T20 World Cup and his fourth as skipper. Fast bowler Southee is set for his seventh appearance, while pacer Boult will make his fifth as the Kiwis aim for their first title in the shortest international format.

Injuries ruled out key pacer Kyle Jamieson (back) and all-rounder Adam Milne (ankle), while players like Will O’Rourke, Tom Latham, Tim Seifert, and Will Young missed out despite recent good performances.

Young opener Rachin Ravindra alongside fast bowler Matt Henry will be making their T20 World Cup debut.

The Kiwis will included young pacer Ben Sears as a traveling reserve for the USA and West Indies.

Coach Gary Stead expressed confidence in the team’s composition, emphasising their ability to adapt to the diverse conditions expected in the West Indies venues. 

Stead highlighted the potential impact of Henry and Ravindra, both set to make their T20 World Cup debut, as key factors in the team’s campaign.

With their opening clash against Afghanistan looming on June 7 in Guyana, followed by matches against co-hosts West Indies, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea in Group C, New Zealand aims to mount a strong challenge for their elusive first T20 World Cup title.

New Zealand Squad:

Kane Williamson (C)

Finn Allen

Trent Boult

Michael Bracewell

Mark Chapman

Devon Conway

Lockie Ferguson

Matt Henry

Daryl Mitchell

Jimmy Neesham

Glenn Phillips

Rachin Ravindra

Mitchell Santner

Ish Sodhi

Tim Southee

Travelling Reserve: Ben Sears

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 1701891
Last Updated: 18th May 2024