Feedback | Sunday, June 23, 2024

Assembly election results: TDP ahead in Andhra Pradesh; ruling YSRCP leading in 6 seats in early trends

As vote counting for assembly elections progresses, early trends indicate that the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) is leading in 23 seats in Andhra Pradesh, while the ruling Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party (YSRCP) is leading in 6 seats.

According to Election Commission data, the Janasena Party (JSP) is leading in two seats in Andhra Pradesh.

The Andhra Pradesh Lok Sabha and Assembly elections are witnessing a triangular contest between the ruling YSRCP, the Congress-led INDIA coalition, and the BJP-led NDA alliance, which includes Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP and the Pawan Kalyan-led JSP.

Exit polls on Sunday predicted victory for the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly polls held on May 13.

The Assembly polls took place on May 13 in a single-phase polling process. The Axis My India exit poll predicted 78-96 seats for TDP, 55-77 seats for YSRCP, 16-18 seats for JSP, 4-6 seats for BJP, and 0-2 seats for Congress.

Polling for all 175 seats of the State Legislative Assembly of Andhra Pradesh was held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha polls.

The ruling YSRCP contested all 175 seats, eyeing another term. As part of a seat-sharing arrangement among NDA partners, TDP contested 144 assembly seats, Jana Sena 21, and BJP 10.

In the 2019 elections, YSRCP registered a landslide victory in Andhra Pradesh, winning 151 of the 175 seats in the Assembly, dethroning the TDP government.

The exit polls also predicted that the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance is poised to retain power at the Centre with a big majority and secure its third straight win in the Lok Sabha polls.

(With ANI input)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3936262
Last Updated: 23rd Jun 2024