Feedback | Monday, June 24, 2024

Bangladesh PM leaves for New Delhi to attend swearing-in ceremony

Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina today left for New Delhi to attend the oath-taking ceremony of Narendra Modi as the prime minister of India for a third consecutive term.

The swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the Council of Ministers following the general Elections 2024 is scheduled on 09 June 2024. On the occasion, leaders from India’s neighbourhood and Indian Ocean region have been cordially invited as distinguished guests, said a press release issued by the Ministry of External Affairs on Saturday morning.

A special flight of Biman Bangladesh Airlines carrying Sheikh Hasina and her entourage members departed from the Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport, Dhaka at 10:15 am.

The flight is scheduled to land at the Palam Air Force Station, the VVIP airport in New Delhi, at 12 noon (New Delhi time), Reports Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS).

Sheikh Hasina will be received  by a high-level Indian delegation and Bangladesh High Commissioner to India Md. Mustafizur Rahman at the airport.

In addition to participating in the swearing-in ceremony, the leaders will attend a Banquet hosted by president Smt. Droupadi Murmu at Rashtrapati Bhavan, the same evening, said the press release. 

The visit of the leaders to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for his third consecutive term is in keeping with the highest priority accorded by India to its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy and ‘SAGAR’ vision, said the press release.

Earlier on Wednesday, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi invited his Bangladesh counterpart to attend the swearing-in ceremony of his government during a conversation over telephone. Sheikh Hasina accepted the invitation.

The Bangladesh prime minister was among the first foreign leaders to congratulate Modi, reflecting the warmth and personal rapport between the two leaders, reports BSS.

By Navalsang Parmar (Dhaka)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3970352
Last Updated: 24th Jun 2024