Feedback | Monday, April 22, 2024

11/12/23 | 4:57 pm

BJP leader Mohan Yadav named new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh

Mohan Yadav has been selected as the new chief minister of Madhya Pradesh, marking a decisive move for the ruling BJP, which triumphed over the Congress in the recent state elections. A former cabinet minister in the Madhya Pradesh government under the leadership of Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Yadav secured victory in the Ujjain Dakshin seat.

The state will have two Deputy Chief Ministers, Jagdish Devda and Rajesh Shukla. Additionally, Union Minister Narendra Tomar will take on the role of Madhya Pradesh Assembly Speaker.

Yadav, initially elected as an MLA in 2013 from the Ujjain Dakshin constituency, successfully retained his seat in the 2018 Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections. On July 2, 2020, he was sworn in as a cabinet minister in the Madhya Pradesh government led by Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

Earlier today, BJP central observers Manohar Lal Khattar, Dr. K Laxman, and Asha Lakra of Madhya Pradesh conducted a legislative party meeting. The BJP had announced the appointment of three central observers, including Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar, K Laxman (National Secretary for the state), and Asha Lakra.

Madhya Pradesh held elections for 230 assembly seats on November 17, with the BJP securing an overwhelming victory, winning 163 seats.

(Inputs from ANI)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 852954
Last Updated: 22nd Apr 2024