Feedback | Monday, June 24, 2024

Counting of votes for all seven phases of Lok Sabha elections to begin from 8 AM Tuesday

The counting of votes for the Lok Sabha elections will take place tomorrow (Tuesday). The counting of votes for the Assembly polls in Andhra Pradesh and Odisha and bye-elections to Assembly Constituencies will also be held on the same day. The counting will begin from 8 AM.

General elections were held from 19 April to 1 June 2024 in seven phases, to elect all 543 members of the Lok Sabha. The votes will be counted and the results will be declared tomorrow. The Election Commission said that the counting trends and results will be available on the ECI Website at as well as on the Voter Helpline App.

The Voter Helpline App can be downloaded from the Google Play Store or Apple Play Store. The Commission has also issued a handbook for Returning Officers and counting agents which is available on its website. The Commission added that the comprehensive instructions for counting arrangements, procedure of counting of votes and storage of EVMs and VVPATs are already available on its website.

The day before the mega counting of votes for the Lok Sabha elections on June 4, the Election Commission is slated to hold a press conference on Monday in Delhi at 12.30 PM. This might be the first time in the country’s electoral history that the poll body has convened a press conference on the conclusion of polls.

Earlier on Sunday, the Election Commission sought factual information and details from Congress General Secretary Jairam Ramesh for his public statement through a post on his social media handle alleging that calls had been made by Union Home Minister Amit Shah to 150 District Magistrates just days before the scheduled counting of votes (June 4).

The poll body has sought a response from Jairam Ramesh by June 2, 2024 evening for further necessary action. The voting for the marathon seven-phase polling process for the Lok Sabha elections, which began on April 19, came to an end on Saturday (June 1).

The exit polls predicted that the ruling BJP-led NDA is poised to improve its performance over its 2019 record when it won 352 seats. Two polls predicted the BJP also improving its numbers from the 303 seats it won in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

If the exit poll predictions come true about BJP returning to power on June 4 when votes are counted, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will become the only PM after Jawaharlal Nehru to win three successive terms in Lok Sabha polls.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3970522
Last Updated: 24th Jun 2024