Feedback | Wednesday, June 19, 2024

Lok Sabha election results: TMC leading in 31 seats in West Bengal

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) is leading in 31 seats in West Bengal, according to the latest trends from the Election Commission of India.

The BJP, striving to increase its presence in West Bengal by targeting the ruling TMC and its leader Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, is leading in 10 seats, while Congress is leading in one seat, as per the ECI.

With 42 Lok Sabha seats in the 543-member Parliament, the third-highest among Indian states and Union territories, West Bengal plays a pivotal role in shaping national politics.

During its election campaign, the BJP attacked the TMC government for corruption and indulging in appeasement politics.

Referring to the Calcutta High Court decision scrapping OBC certificates, PM Modi accused Trinamool Congress of appeasing the “Muslim vote bank.”

Several exit polls have predicted that the BJP will secure more seats than the TMC in West Bengal.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the TMC won 22 of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in the state, and the BJP won 18. The Congress managed to win only 2 seats.

(With ANI input)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3743873
Last Updated: 19th Jun 2024