Feedback | Saturday, May 18, 2024

Lok Sabha polls: PM Modi files nomination from Varanasi, seeks record-breaking victory

Prime Minister Narendra Modi filed his nomination papers from the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh on Tuesday, marking his bid for a third consecutive term from the constituency.

The senior BJP leader arrived at the district magistrate’s office in Varanasi amid a sea of supporters and party leaders.

Clad in a full-sleeved white kurta with white churidar and a blue jacket, PM Modi was welcomed by Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath outside the Kal Bhairav temple, where he offered prayers before proceeding to the nomination center.

A total of 25 NDA leaders, including Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP National President JP Nadda, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, and Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri, accompanied the PM to the nomination center.

Ahead of filing his nomination, PM Modi offered prayers at the Dashashwamedh Ghat on the banks of the Ganges. He also took a cruise to the Namo Ghat. On Monday, PM Modi held a 5-km-long roadshow in Varanasi, accompanied by Uttar Pradesh CM Adityanath and BJP state president Chaudhary Bhupendra Singh.

PM Modi after filing the nomination from Varanasi Lok Sabha seats for the third time, said that it is an “honour” to serve the people of this “historic seat,” adding that in the coming times, the pace of work will get faster.

“Filed my nomination papers as a candidate for the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat. It is an honour to serve the people of this historic seat. With the blessings of the people, there have been remarkable achievements over the last decade. This pace of work will get even faster in the times to come,” PM Modi posted on X.

He further said that he was honoured by the presence of our valued NDA allies in Kashi today. 

Varanasi will vote in the seventh and final phase of elections on June 1. The Lok Sabha seat holds special significance for both the BJP and PM Modi. Considered a stronghold of the party, the constituency comprises five Assembly segments, including Rohaniya, Varanasi North, Varanasi South, Varanasi Cantt, and Sevapuri. PM Modi won the seat with a resounding majority in both the 2014 and 2019 general elections.

This time, PM Modi will face off against UP Congress chief Ajay Rai, nominated by the Opposition INDIA bloc. Rai, who contested the last two Lok Sabha polls from Varanasi, finished third on both occasions.

(With ANI input)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 1703344
Last Updated: 18th May 2024