Feedback | Saturday, June 22, 2024

Preparations in full swing for 6th phase of Lok Sabha Elections for 58 constituencies

Preparations are in full swing for 6th phase of Lok Sabha elections on Saturday. 58 constituencies spread over six states and two Union Territories are covered in this phase. National Capital Delhi is all set to go to polls in the sixth phase of Lok Sabha elections.

In the seven Parliamentary Constituencies of Delhi, a total of 162 candidates are in the fray. Manoj Tiwari, and Bansuri Swaraj of BJP, Somnath Bharti and Kuldeep Kumar of Aam Aadmi Party and Kanhaiya Kumar and JP Agarwal of Congress are some of the prominent names. Extensive arrangements are in place to ensure smooth and efficient electoral process.

A total of one crore 52 lakh people are eligible to exercise their franchise out of which  around 82 lakh are male and 70 lakh are female voters. The voting will take place across 13 thousand 637 polling stations spread across the seven Lok Sabha constituencies of the city.

A total of 70 pink polling stations have also been set up in Delhi, which will be entirely managed by women polling staff. For the first time, each parliamentary constituency will have a polling station fully operated by persons with disabilities. With a view to enhance voter turnout, Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Delhi has partnered with bike-taxi aggregators to offer free rides to and from home after voting for the elderly people. It has also made arrangements at polling stations to protect voters from adverse weather conditions.

In Jammu and Kashmir, over 25 thousand Kashmiri migrants will exercise their franchise on May 25 in Anantnag-Rajouri constituency which is going to polls in sixth phase along with 58 constituencies spread all over the country. All arrangements for voting in Jammu, Udhampur and NCR Delhi are in place. 34 Special Polling Booths including 29 Special Polling Booths in Jammu, one in Udhampur and four in NCR Delhi have been set up for the purpose.

In Jammu, eight polling booths will be Auxiliary Polling Stations, two each in Government Middle School Chinore, Government Higher Secondary School in Muthi, and Jagti township and one each in Agriculture Complex Udheywala Bohri and Anuradha Higher Secondary School. Besides, two Special Polling Stations are set up at Jagti township and at Muthi Camp Higher Secondary School which in addition to other facilities will have CCTV coverage facility also. The drinking water facilities will be made available while gifts will be given to first time voters.

To and fro transport facilities for all voters will be made available and Shamiyana facility will be provided in all Polling Stations in view of scorching heat. Like previous time the displaced voters will be allowed to cast their vote in the nearest polling booth of their residence in case their name is not enlisted in the extract voter roll of that polling booth.

Earlier, campaigning for the sixth phase of elections came to an end yesterday evening.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3892167
Last Updated: 22nd Jun 2024