Feedback | Wednesday, April 24, 2024

03/03/24 | 2:10 pm

Shehbaz Sharif elected as Pakistan’s Prime Minister for second term

The Pakistan National Assembly elected Shehbaz Sharif, leader of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), as the 24th Prime Minister in a session that started with Sunni Ittehad Council (SIC) members creating a ruckus by shouting slogans.

Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, the Speaker of the Pakistan National Assembly, announced Shehbaz Sharif's victory with 201 votes. 

Meanwhile, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader and SIC candidate for prime minister, Omar Ayub Khan, received 92 votes. The announcement was made amid protests by SIC lawmakers, as reported.

Chaired by Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, the session began with the oath-taking of PML-N leader Jam Kamal. However, the House soon resonated with slogans and chants raised by SIC members in favor of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) founder Imran Khan and the eight-party alliance supporting Shehbaz Sharif.

Subsequently, Sadiq instructed the Assembly staff to ring the bell for five minutes to allow any absent members to join the floor for the PM's election. After the bells were rung, Sadiq directed the National Assembly staff to lock the doors and announced the method for electing the PM.

Following this, the Pakistan National Assembly speaker informed lawmakers about the candidates contesting for the PM's post, stating, “Valid nominated candidates are Shehbaz Sharif and Omar Ayub. Honourable members who wish to vote in favor of Shehbaz may proceed to the lobby on the right side designated as 'Lobby A.'”

Ayaz Sadiq then instructed those voting for Omar Ayub Khan to proceed to the left-hand side towards “Lobby B” to record their votes. As the voting process started, members of the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) announced a boycott of the elections and walked out of the house.

Balochistan National Party's Sardar Akhtar Mengal did not vote; however, he remained seated in the Assembly. After the polling process concluded, the Pakistan National Assembly secretary provided details regarding the voting process to the speaker. Following the completion of counting, Ayaz Sadiq ordered the Pakistan National Assembly staff to ring the bell, summoning lawmakers back to the house for the announcement of the results.

(With agency inputs)

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 930943
Last Updated: 24th Apr 2024