Feedback | Tuesday, June 18, 2024

22/05/24 | 4:46 pm

T20 World Cup: First batch of Indian players to depart for US on May 25 

The first batch of Indian cricketers will leave for the United States on May 25 to participate in the ICC T20 World Cup. This group will consist of players not involved in the playoff stage of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024.

The tournament is set to kick off on June 1 in the West Indies and the USA. India’s campaign will begin on June 5 against Ireland at the newly constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. 

The highly anticipated India vs Pakistan clash is scheduled for June 9.

India will subsequently play against the USA, one of the tournament’s co-hosts, on June 12, and wrap up their Group A matches against Canada on June 15.

The ‘Men in Blue’ will be looking to end their ICC trophy drought, having last won an ICC tournament 11 years back- ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. 

Since then, India has reached the 50-over World Cup final in 2023, the semifinals in 2015 and 2019, the title clash of the ICC World Test Championship in 2021 and 2023, the T20 World Cup final in 2014, and the semifinals in 2016 and 2022. Despite being the most consisten side in the last decade, they haven’t been able to get their hands on any trophy. 

Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, the team will be striving to win their second T20 World Cup title since their triumph in the inaugural edition in South Africa under MS Dhoni.

In the last T20 World Cup held in Australia in 2022, India were beaten by England in the semis by 10 wickets.

India’s squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan.

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 3687391
Last Updated: 17th Jun 2024