Feedback | Sunday, May 19, 2024

30/04/24 | 9:17 pm

Women in Blue win second T20I against Bangladesh in Sylhet

The Indian Womens cricket team won the second T20 international match by 19 runs against host Bangladesh based on the DLS method played at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

Earlier, the host Bangladesh team won the toss and decided to bat first. Bangladesh team allout in 119 runs after playing full 20 overs. Bangladeshi batter Murshida Khatun’s 46 runs in 49 balls gave the host team a face saving score. 

In response, women in blue had a good start and before rain forced the match to stop, India scored 45 runs in 5.2 overs after losing one wicket. After waiting for the match to resume for more than an hour, the match referee declared the Indian side winner by 19 runs with the DLS method. 

Indian batter Dayalan Hemalatha with fantastic stoke scored not out 41 runs in just 24 balls with help of 2 sixes and 5 fours. She was given player of the match trophy.

Indian national women’s cricket team led by Harmanpreet Kaur is now leading a five matches series with 2-0 against the host Bangladesh.

The remaining three matches of the series will also be held at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium and the matches will start at 04:30pm (IST). The remaining four matches will be held on 2 May, 6 May and 9 May respectively.

The series acts as a precursor for the upcoming Women Asia Cup in Sri Lanka in July followed by the T20 World Cup in Bangladesh.

Last year, when India visited Bangladesh, they won the three-match T20 series by 2-1. In the ODI series, Bangladesh won one game, their second against India in this format, and drew the three-match series 1-1 after forcing India to tie the third match.

-Navalsang Parmar 

Copyright © 2024 DD News. All rights reserved
Visitors: 1718552
Last Updated: 18th May 2024